Lecturer

Dr CHEN, Charlie Chau-lin 陳秋蓮
Dr CHEN, Charlie Chau-lin
陳秋蓮
HD [PolyU(H.K.)]; BA (Sheff.Hallam); MSocSc (H.K. Baptist U.); RSW; DSW [PolyU(H.K.)]
Teaching and Scholarly Interests:

Dr Charlie Chen obtained her Higher Diploma in Social Work from The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) in 2003. She then completed her Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in Applied Social Science from Sheffield Hallam University, UK (offered through the City University of Hong Kong) in 2007 and Master of Social Sciences in Social Work from Hong Kong Baptist University in 2009. After that, she further obtained her Doctor of Social Work from PolyU in 2019; her main areas of interest include substance abuse and addiction treatment work.

Charlie is proud of being a registered social worker. After gaining her Higher Diploma in Social Work, she worked as a social worker in different services and she likes to serve drug abusers and marginal youth in particular. In terms of professional practical experience, she has been an outreaching social worker for youth services. She has also been deeply involved in substance abuse and addiction treatment work. She walked her talk by providing services for drug addicts and prostitutes. Because of her experience and dedication, she was invited by benevolent funders to establish an NGO named GOD POWER which provides drug addiction treatment.

Charlie was a visiting lecturer in difference community colleges such as the Community College of City University, Hong Kong College of Technology, the School of Continuing and Professional Studies of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, and HKU School of Professional and Continuing Education. She has extensive teaching experience both in the classroom as well as fieldwork placement. She also renders supervision to social workers in mainland China.

Charlie likes to share her rich knowledge of social work practice and welfare with students. She walks her talk and tries her best to be a role model for her students. Her passion, dedication, perseverance and commitment to students have made her one of the most influential and approachable teachers.

Charlie has committed herself to be a social work practitioner, educator and researcher. Besides, she has also devoted herself to promoting social services in substance abuse and addiction treatment work. She volunteers as the director of social work development of an NGO called Sunshine Recovery Association Limited; she is also a board member of the association.

Charlie believes that life inspires life and everyone is a beautiful gem that can shine and light up others!

Back

講師

Dr CHEN, Charlie Chau-lin 陳秋蓮
Dr CHEN, Charlie Chau-lin
陳秋蓮
HD [PolyU(H.K.)]; BA (Sheff.Hallam); MSocSc (H.K. Baptist U.); RSW; DSW [PolyU(H.K.)]
教學及學術興趣:

陳秋蓮博士於2003年畢業於香港理工大學,獲頒社會工作高級文憑。2007年,她在香港城市大學完成英國雪菲爾哈倫大學(Sheffield Hallam University)開辦的應用社會科學文學士學位課程,再於2009年取得香港浸會大學社會工作社會科學碩士學位。期間,她在不同的機構修讀與專業有關的成長課程,並於2019年取得香港理工大學社會工作博士學位,主要研究範疇是濫用藥物及沉溺行為的治療工作。

陳女士以身為註冊社工感到自豪。她曾做過不同範疇的工作,但最感興趣的是負責濫用藥物人士及邊緣青少年工作。在社工的專業,她主要負責濫用藥物人士及沉溺行為的治療工作,與受助者同行,協助他們脫離舊有的生活模式,重過新生。由於見到濫用藥物問題嚴峻,她與朋友創辦非牟利機構「基督教得力協會」,幫助濫用藥物人士及提供沉溺行為治療。

陳女士擁有十分豐富的教學及社工前線工作經驗,她曾在不同的學院擔任兼職講師,例如:香港城市大學專上學院、香港專業進修學校、香港中文大學專業進修學院及香港大學專業進修學院。她也曾在內地的社工機構負責督導工作,教導內地社工如何從事社工工作。

陳女士熱愛教學,喜歡與學生分享前線工作經驗及生命的閱歷,與學生同行,以生命影響生命,令她深受學生愛載。

陳女士雖然擔任全職講師,但仍堅持繼續前線工作,以豐富教學經驗及推廣預防濫用藥物和沉溺行為的治療工作。她現在義務擔任非牟利機構「陽光協會」的社會服務發展總監及董事。

陳女士相信生命可以影響生命,每個人都是一粒寶石,每個人都可以為世界發光發亮!

返回