Division Head

Dr TONG, Esther Ka-man 唐嘉雯
Dr TONG, Esther Ka-man
唐嘉雯
BA (City H.K.); MA, DipEd (Br.Col); EdD (H.K.)
Teaching and Scholarly Interests:
Professional Activities/Achievements

Dr Esther Tong graduated as a first-class-honour student from City University of Hong Kong where she was awarded a Bachelor of Arts in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL) - a platform which paved the way for the development of her calling as a language educator. Determined to devote herself to the language education profession, she further pursued studies at University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada, where she received a Diploma in Education with specialisation in TESL (with distinction), and a Master of Arts in English Education (with distinction). She then obtained her Doctor of Education in English Language Education from The University of Hong Kong.

Since joining HKCC in August 2002, she has been responsible for teaching and developing Academic English and Business English subjects. She has taken on a number of academic leadership roles coordinating the English subject delivery and development as well as overseeing the programmes under Associate Degree Scheme in Humanities and Communication. Currently, she is the Head of the Division of Languages and Communication.

Having a sustained commitment to teaching excellence and innovation, she received the HKCC's Outstanding Teaching Award in 2004 and 2007, and several other teaching awards in 2005-2013, namely Lively Teaching Award, Inspiring Teaching Award and Caring Teacher Award. She is also the recipient of the CPCE Outstanding Teaching Performance/Achievement Award 2014/15, the CPCE Dean's Award for Outstanding Teaching Performance/Achievement 2014/15, and the FSTE General Education (GE) Outstanding Teaching Award 2017.

Her research interests lie in the areas of bilingual education, teaching English as a second language (TESL), content and language integrated learning (CLIL), and applied and functional linguistics.

Back

學部主任

Dr TONG, Esther Ka-man 唐嘉雯
Dr TONG, Esther Ka-man
唐嘉雯
BA (City H.K.); MA, DipEd (Br.Col); EdD (H.K.)
教學及學術興趣:
專業活動/成就

唐嘉雯博士於香港城市大學取得甲等榮譽文學士(英語為第二語言教學),所受訓練成為她日後投身語言教育工作的台階。矢志成為語言教育工作者,唐博士繼而前往加拿大哥倫比亞大學 (University of British Columbia) 進修,取得教育文憑(英語為第二語言教學)及文學碩士(英語教學)。她其後於香港大學取得教育博士(英語教學)學位。

加入香港專上學院後,唐博士一直負責教導和發展學術英語和商業英語科目,也曾擔任英語學科統籌及人文及傳意副學士組合課程策劃委員會的主席及課程統籌。現時,唐博士是語文及傳意學部學部主任。

唐博士熱衷創新教學,曾獲香港專上學院傑出教學獎 (20042007) 及多個不同的教學獎項,包括生動教學獎、啟發教學獎及關懷教學獎 (2005-2013)。她亦曾獲專業及持續教育學院頒發CPCE傑出教學表現/成就獎2014/15CPCE院長特設傑出教學表現/成就獎2014/15。2007年,唐博士也獲自資高等教育聯盟頒發通識教育傑出教學獎。

唐博士的研究興趣為雙語教育、英語作為第二語言的教育、學科內容和語言綜合教學,以及應用和功能語言學。

返回