2022-11-14

Contest Details Secondary Group - Online Application Post-secondary Group – Online ApplicationSecondary Group - Download Application FormPost-secondary Group - Download Application Form

Background

The Business Excellence Contest is a business competition co-organised by Hong Kong Community College and the School of Professional Education and Executive Development of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU HKCC and PolyU SPEED) for secondary and post-secondary students. The theme for the competition this year is "Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign".

Social sustainability is a process for creating sustainable, successful places that promote wellbeing by understanding what people need from the places they live and work[1]. From the business perspective, it is about understanding consumers' needs and desires, considering the social impacts of companies' actions and changes in buying habits for a better quality of life. Across industries, companies are using social impact mindset to create differentiated products, provide goods and services for customers, secure a sustainable supply chain, and communicate effectively with stakeholders.  This may reach to numerous business objectives such as gaining access to new markets, increasing market share, maintaining market power, improving long-term profits, and enhancing social responsibility, etc. Nowadays, companies are keen to adopt technological innovation for achieving social sustainability in order to meet business objectives. 

For instance, Amazon created an online marketplace for selling different products. Online shopping can save fuel and therefore reduce carbon dioxide emission because customers do not have to travel. Amazon plans to use Artificial Intelligence (AI) and other efficient delivery mechanisms to reduce the fuel and also plans to use electric delivery vehicles.

Bupa Hong Kong ran a "One Health" campaign, hoping to alter human behaviour through gamification with the step challenge on its Bupa4Life mobile app to reward people to lead a healthier life and to contribute to sustainability in society.

Finnair launched a new offset scheme for carbon neutrality. On the online platform, Choose, passengers can use the calculator to offset their carbon footprint. The price passengers pay to offset varies, depending on how much they would like their contribution goes to Sustainable Aviation Fuel (SAF) and how much to support climate projects that reduce, capture, or avoid greenhouse gas emissions.

This competition is designed to provide students with an opportunity to analyse the business of a real corporation in Hong Kong and make use of their creativity and critical thinking skills to develop a new product (package) / service or launch a special event or activity with the concept of "Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign" for this corporation to create a distinctive opportunity to move forward and achieve specific business objectives. Moreover, students will develop better appreciation of theories and practices of business as well as generic attributes and abilities such as observation, communication, teamwork, analytical and organisation skills.


[1] Woodcraft, S. (2011). Design for Social Sustainability: a Framework for Creating Thriving Communities. London: The Young Foundation.

Awards and Prizes

Secondary Group:

Gold Award

HK$8,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + trophy + certificates for individual members

Silver Award

HK$6,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + trophy + certificates for individual members

Bronze Award

HK$5,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + trophy + certificates for individual members

Merit (2 awardees)

HK$3,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + certificates for individual members

Judges Commendation
(15 awardees)

HK$1,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + certificates for individual members

Post-secondary Group:

Gold Award

HK$11,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + trophy + certificates for individual members

Silver Award

HK$9,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + trophy + certificates for individual members

Bronze Award

HK$8,000 electronics gift vouchers/cards + trophy + certificates for individual members

All other participating team members will receive a Certificate of Participation.


Eligibility

Secondary Group:
The Secondary Group is open to full-time Secondary 4 to 6 students in Hong Kong. Each student team must consist of 3 to 6 members from the same school. The application must be coordinated by the school principal or a teacher.

Post-secondary Group:
The Post-secondary Group is open to sub-degree and self-financing undergraduate students in Hong Kong. Each student team must consist of 3 to 6 members from the same or different institution(s).

Scope of Work

Students have to select a real corporation in Hong Kong, conduct a business and market analysis, explain the objectives of a Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign, and develop a new product (package) /service or launch a special event or activity to achieve specific business objective(s).

Secondary Group:
For the written report, 20% weighting will be given for the business and market analysis, and 80% weighting will be given for the creativity of a new product /service or event, application of technology innovation, effectiveness of social sustainability, and realistic business objectives. For the final round presentation, 70% weighting will be given for the content of the presentation and 30% weighting will be given for the presentation and communication skills.

Post-secondary Group:
For the written report, 40% weighting will be given for comprehensive business and market analyses; 60% weighting will be given for critical thinking, creativity of a new product /service or event, application of technology innovation, effectiveness of social sustainability, and realistic business objectives. For the final round presentation, 70% weighting will be given for the content of the presentation, 20% weighting will be given for the presentation and communication skills and 10% weighting will be given for the question-and-answer (Q&A) session.

A guest talk will be arranged for participants in late January / early February 2023 to enhance their knowledge and skills of conducting a business and market analysis and developing a Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign.

  1. Report Outline
    (a) Introduction
    (b) Main text
    • Business and market analysis
    • The objectives of a Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign
    • Explanation and justifications of a new product (package) /service or launch a special event or activity, and a promotional strategy for the Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign

       (c) Conclusion                                    

  1. Report Format
    (a) Word Limit
    Secondary Group:
    The report must be written either in English (maximum 1,000 words) or Chinese (maximum 1,300 words), excluding the cover page, table of contents and appendices.
     
    Post-secondary Group:
    The report must be written in English (maximum 1,500 words), excluding the cover page, table of contents and appendices.
    (b) Appendices are optional and should be limited to 10 pages.
    (c) The font size of the content should be Times New Roman 12 point for the English version or PMingLiU (新細明體) 12 point for the Chinese version (except the headings/titles).
    (d) Single-line spacing with at least one-inch margins (top, bottom, left and right).
  2. Report Cover 
    (a) Full names of team members
    (b) Name of school / institution(s)
    (c) Name of the business / project
    (d) Date of submission
    (e) Contact details (email address and telephone number, etc.) of the team coordinator

Registration Procedure

      1. Online Registration
        Secondary Group:
        You can click here to register online
        Post-secondary Group:
        You can click here to register online
  1. Register by Email, Fax or Post
    Secondary Group:
    You can click here to download an application form
Post-secondary Group:
You can click here to download an application form

Please return the completed application form either
(i)   by email to do.bhm@cpce-polyu.edu.hk (Please mark "Business Excellence Contest 2022/23 – Secondary / Post-secondary Group" in the email subject title.); or
(ii)  by fax at 2625-4159; or
(iii) by post to Room N1302, 13/F, PolyU West Kowloon Campus, 9 Hoi Ting Road, Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon. Please specify on the envelope "Business Excellence Contest 2022/23 - Secondary / Post-secondary Group".


The deadline for registration is 5:30 pm, 23 December 2022 (Friday).

Submission of the Written Report

Please submit your written report:
(i) either in person# or by post to Room N1302, 13/F, PolyU West Kowloon Campus, 9 Hoi Ting Road, Yau Ma Tei, Please specify on the envelope "Business Excellence Contest 2022/23 Written Report – Secondary / Post-secondary Group"; or
(ii) by email to do.bhm@cpce-polyu.edu.hk. The report should be converted into a PDF file and the file size should not exceed 15MB. Please type "Business Excellence Contest 2022/23 Written Report – Secondary / Post-secondary Group" in the email subject title.

The deadline for submission of the written report is 5:30 pm, 20 February 2023 (Monday).

Adjudication

      1. First Round Adjudication
        Secondary Group:

        Twenty most outstanding teams will be selected; and from them the best 5 teams will be shortlisted for the Final Round Adjudication and the 15 other outstanding teams will be offered the Judges Commendation. The First Round Adjudication results will be released on the PolyU HKCC website at www.hkcc-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022 by 17 March 2023.

Post-secondary Group:
The best 3 teams will be shortlisted for the Final Round Adjudication. The First Round Adjudication results will be released on the PolyU SPEED website at www.speed-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022 by 17 March 2023.

      1. Judging Criteria for the First Round Adjudication
(a) Does the team present the written report clearly and concisely? 
(b) Does the team include the use of technology to a unique and sustainable product /service or launch a special event or activity and a promotional strategy for the Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign in order to achieve specific business objective(s)? 
(c) Does the team provide a persuasive analysis on realistic business objectives and a concise conclusion? 

      1. Final Round Adjudication
The Final Round Adjudication will be held at the PolyU West Kowloon Campus on 15 April 2023.

Secondary Group:

For the Final Round Adjudication, the first 5 best teams will be invited to deliver a 10-minute verbal presentation. The presentation could be delivered in English or Cantonese. The winners of the Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit Awards will be selected. Details concerning the time and venue will be announced through the PolyU HKCC website at www.hkcc-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022 upon releasing the First Round Adjudication results.

Post-secondary Group:
For the Final Round Adjudication, the first 3 best teams will be invited to deliver a 10-minute verbal presentation followed by a 5-minute question-and-answer (Q&A) session. The presentation must be delivered in English. The winners of the Gold, Silver, and Bronze Awards will be selected. Details concerning the time and venue will be announced through the PolyU SPEED website at www.speed-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022 upon releasing the First Round Adjudication results.

      1. Judging Criteria for the Final Round Adjudication
Secondary Group:
(a) Does the team present the ideas clearly, concisely and interestingly? 
(b) Does the team provide a comprehensive business and market analysis and realistic business objectives, and generate a creative and feasible Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign?
(c) Does the team provide a clear and well-organised PowerPoint presentation for their ideas in the written report?

Post-secondary Group:
(a) Does the team present the ideas clearly, concisely and interestingly?
(b) Does the team provide a comprehensive business and market analysis and realistic business objectives, and generate a creative and feasible Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign? 
(c) Does the team provide a clear and well-organised PowerPoint presentation for their ideas in the written report? 
(d) Does the team provide clear, precise and convincing answers to judges' questions? 


Presentation of Awards and Prizes

The Awards Presentation Ceremony will be held on 15 April 2023, right after the Final Round Adjudication. For the Secondary Group, the Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit Awards will be presented to the champion, first runner-up, second runner-up, and other two finalist teams respectively. The Judges Commendation Awards for 15 teams will also be presented. For the Post-secondary Group, the Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards will be presented to the champion, first runner-up, and second runner-up teams.

Date: 15 April 2023 (Saturday)  (tentative)
Time: 8:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. (tentative)
Location:

PolyU West Kowloon Campus,
9 Hoi Ting Road,
Yau Ma Tei,
Kowloon



Calendar of Events

Date

Event

23 December 2022
(before 5:30 p.m.)

Deadline for registration

Late January / early February 2023
(4:45 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.)

Guest Talk on enhancing students' knowledge and skills of conducting a business and market analysis and developing a Technology Innovation for Achieving Social Sustainability Campaign.

20 February 2023
(before 5:30 p.m.)

Deadline for submission of the written report

On or before 17 March 2023

  • Secondary group: Announcement of the 15 winners of the Judges Commendation and the 5 best teams for the Final Round Adjudication
  • Post-secondary group: Announcement of the 3 best teams for the Final Round Adjudication

15 April 2023 (tentative)

Final Round Adjudication and Awards Presentation Ceremony

Enquiries

Website:

Tel.: 3746-0988
Email: do.bhm@cpce-polyu.edu.hk

Office Hour#:

Back

2022-11-14

比赛资料 中学组 – 网上报名 大专组 – 网上报名中学组 – 参赛表格下载大专组 – 参赛表格下载

背景

「卓越商业大赛」是一年一度的商业个案分析比赛,由香港理工大学香港专上学院 (PolyU HKCC) 及专业进修学院 (PolyU SPEED) 合办,专为中学生及大专生而设。今年的比赛主题为「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」。

社会可持续发展是一个过程,通过了解人们对生活和工作地方的需求,来创造可持续、成功的地方,以促进福祉[1]从商业角度而言,此概念是有关了解消费者的需求和慾望,考虑企业行为对社会的影响及购买习惯的改变,以提高生活质素。各行各业的企业都在利用社会影响力的思维,来创造有特色的产品、为客户提供商品和服务、确保可持续的供应链,并与持份者进行有效沟通。这可能会达到许多商业目标,例如进入新市场、增加市场份额、维持市场势力、提高长期利润,以及加强社会责任等。如今,企业热衷于采用技术创新来实现社会可持续发展,以达到业务目标。

例如,亚马逊创立了销售不同产品的网上市场。网上购物可让客户足不出户,得以节省燃料,从而减少二氧化碳排放。而亚马逊计划使用人工智能 (AI) 和其他高效的商品付运机制来减少消耗燃料,以及使用电动车运送商品。

保柏香港则开展了「One Health健康一体」活动,希望通过 Bupa4Life 手机应用程式上的游戏化步行挑战,改变大众的行为,奖励他们过更健康的生活,并为社会的可持续发展作出贡献。

芬兰航空启动了一项新的碳中和抵消计划。在其网上平台「选择」,乘客可以使用计算器来抵消他们的碳足迹。乘客为抵消碳足迹而支付的价格不一,取决于他们希望有多少款项用于可持续航空燃料 (SAF) ,以及有多少款项用于支持减少、捕捉或避免温室气体排放的气候项目。

藉着参加是次比赛,学生将会分析一家香港真实企业的业务,并运用他们的创意和慎思明辨技巧,以「科技创新实现社会可持续发展」的概念,为该企业发展新产品(包装)/服务,从而创造独特机会,帮助企业迈步向前及达到特定的业务目标。此外,比赛有助加强同学对商业理论和实务的理解,培养共通能力,例如:观察力、沟通能力、团队合作精神,以及分析和组织能力。


[1] Woodcraft, S. (2011). Design for Social Sustainability: a Framework for Creating Thriving Communities. London: The Young Foundation.

奖项及奖品

中学组:

金奖

港币8,000元电子礼品券/卡、奖座及每名队员获颁奖状

银奖

港币6,000元电子礼品券/卡、奖座及每名队员获颁奖状

铜奖

港币5,000元电子礼品券/卡、奖座及每名队员获颁奖状

优异奖(2名)

港币3,000元电子礼品券/卡及每名队员获颁奖状

评审团嘉许奖(15名)

港币1,000元电子礼品券/卡及每名队员获颁奖状

大专组:

金奖

港币11,000元电子礼品券/卡、奖座及每名队员获颁奖状

银奖

港币9,000元电子礼品券/卡、奖座及每名队员获颁奖状

铜奖

港币8,000元电子礼品券/卡、奖座及每名队员获颁奖状

其余参赛者将获颁发参赛证书。


参赛资格

中学组:
所有本港中四至中六全日制学生均可参加。比赛以队制形式进行,每组参赛队伍为3至6人,且所有成员必须来自同一学校。参赛表格须经校长或老师签署或递交。

大专组:
所有本港专上课程及自资学位课程学生均可参加。比赛以队制形式进行,每组参赛队伍为3至6人,可来自同一所或不同院校。

比赛详情

学生需要选择在本港一家真实企业,进行业务及市场分析,解释「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」的目标,并开发新产品(包装)/服务或推出特别项目或活动来达到特定的业务目标。

中学组:
报告书方面,业务及市场分析占20%分数;新产品/服务或项目的创意、创新技术的应用、社会可持续发展的有效性,以及业务目标是否切实可行占 80% 分数。决赛演讲中,演讲内容占70%分数,演讲和沟通技巧占30%分数。

大专组:
报告书方面,全面业务及市场分析占40%分数;慎思明辨技巧的发挥、新产品/服务或项目的创意、创新技术的应用、社会可持续发展的有效性,以及业务目标是否切实可行占 60% 分数。决赛演讲中,演讲内容占70%分数,演讲和沟通技巧占20%分数,问答环节将占 10%分数。

参赛者将获邀参加于2023年1月下旬至2月上旬举办的嘉宾讲座,提高他们进行业务和市场分析,以及开展「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」的知识和技能。

  1. 报告书大纲
    (a) 简介
    (b) 主体
    • 业务及市场分析
    • 以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划的目标
    • 新产品(包装)/服务或推出特别项目或活动的理由,以及「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」的宣传策略

       (c) 结论                   

  1. 报告书格式
    (a) 字数
    中学组:
    报告书可以英文(上限1,000字)或中文(上限1,300字)撰写,字数不包括封面、目录及附录。
     
    大专组:
    报告书须以英文(上限1,500字)撰写,字数不包括封面、目录及附录。
    (b) 附录并非必须,上限为10页。
    (c) 字体方面,英文必须为Times New Roman 12,中文则为新细明体12 (标题及分题除外)
    (d) 行距必须为单行距,四周各留至少一吋边界。
  2. 报告书封面
    (a) 参赛队员的姓名
    (b) 学校/院校名称
    (c) 企业/计划书名称
    (d) 递交日期
    (e) 队伍统筹人的电邮地址及电话号码等联络资料

递交参赛表格方法

      1. 网上递交
        中学组: 
        你可以按报名
        大专组:
        你可以按报名
  1. 电邮、传真或邮寄递交
    中学组: 
    你可以按下载参赛表格
大专组:
你可以按下载参赛表格

请将填妥的表格
(i)  电邮至 do.bhm@cpce-polyu.edu.hk (请在电邮标题中注明「卓越商业大赛2022/23 — 中学/大专组」);或
(ii)  传真至 2625-4159;或
(iii) 邮寄至九龙油麻地海庭道 9 号理大西九龙校园 13 楼 N1302 室。请在信封面注明「卓越商业大赛2022/23 — 中学/大专组」。


截止报名日期:2022年12月23日下午5时30分 (星期五)

递交报告书

(i) 亲自交回#或邮寄至九龙油麻地海庭道 9 号理大西九龙校园 13 楼 N1302 室。请在信封面注明「卓越商业大赛2022/23报告书 — 中学/大专组」;或
(ii)电邮至 do.bhm@cpce-polyu.edu.hk。报告书须转换为 PDF 文件,文件大小不得超过 15MB。请在电子邮件主题中注明「卓越商业大赛2022/23报告书中学大专组」。

截止递交报告书日期:2023220日下午530(星期一)

评审

      1. 初赛
        中学组:

        评审团将会挑选20组表现出色的队伍,并从中再选出5组进入决赛,其余15组将获颁发评审团嘉许奖。初赛结果将于2023317或之前在理大香港专上学院网站公布,网址:www.hkcc-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022

大专组:
评审团将会选出3组进入决赛。初赛结果将于2023317或之前在理大专业进修学院网站公布,网址:www.speed-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022

      1. 初赛评审准则
(a) 团队能否清楚及简洁阐述报告书内容?
(b) 团队是否将技术用于独特且可持续的产品/服务,或推出特殊项目或活动,并为「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」制订宣传策略,从而达到特定的业务目标?
(c) 团队是否对切实可行的业务目标提供有说服力的分析和简要的结论?

      1. 决赛
决赛将于2023年4月15日在理大西九龙校园举行。

中学组:

入围决赛的5组队伍将要以中文或英文进行为时10分钟的演讲。其后,评审团将会决定金、银、铜及优异奖得主。有关决赛的时间及地点等详情,将于初赛后在理大香港专上学院网站公布,网址:www.hkcc-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022

大专组:
入围决赛的3组队伍将要以英文进行为时10分钟的演讲及5分钟的问答环节。其后,评审团将会决定金、银及铜奖得主。有关决赛的时间及地点等详情,将于初赛后在理大专业进修学院网站公布,网址:www.speed-polyu.edu.hk/business_excellence_contest2022

      1. 决赛评审准则
中学组:
(a) 团队能否以清楚、简洁及有趣的方法阐述意念?
(b) 团队能否提出全面及透彻的业务及市场分析、切实可行的业务目标,并制订具创意及可行的「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」?
(c) 团队能否以清楚及有条理的PowerPoint,阐述在书面报告中提出的意念?

大专组:
(a) 团队能否以清楚、简洁及有趣的方法阐述意念?
(b) 团队能否提出全面及透彻的业务及市场分析、切实可行的业务目标,并制订具创意及可行的「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」?
(c) 团队能否以清楚及有条理的PowerPoint,阐述在书面报告中提出的意念?
(d) 团队能否就评审团的问题提供清晰、精确和具说服力的答案?


颁奖典礼详情

颁奖典礼于2023415决赛完结后举行。届时将会颁发金、银、铜、两名优异奖及15名评审团嘉许奖予中学组得主。同时,亦将会颁发金、银及铜奖予大专组得主。

日期: 2023年4月15日(星期六)(暂定)
时间: 上午8时45分至中午12时45分(暂定)
地点:

理大西九龙校园
九龙油麻地海庭道9号



比赛日程

日期

事项

2022年12月23日
下午5时30分前

递交报名表格限期

2023年2月7日
(下午5时至6时30分)
(登记:下午4时30分)

举办嘉宾讲座,加强同学有关业务和市场分析,以及制订「以科技创新实现社会可持续发展计划」所需的知识及技巧。

2023年2月20日
(下午5时30分前)

递交报告书限期

2023年3月17日或之前

  • 中学组:公布评审团嘉许奖15组得奖队伍及晋身决赛的5组队伍
  • 大专组:公布晋身决赛的3组队伍

2023年4月15日(暂定)

决赛及颁奖典礼

查询方法

网址:

电话:3746-0988
电邮:do.bhm@cpce-polyu.edu.hk

办公时间#:

返回