Lecturer

Dr HO, Kelvin Yu-hin 何宇軒
Dr HO, Kelvin Yu-hin
何宇軒
BSocSc, MPhil, PhD (H.K. Baptist U.)
Teaching and Scholarly Interests:
Research-Scholarly Activities Professional Activities/Achievements

Dr Kelvin Yu-hin Ho is a Lecturer of the Division of Social Sciences, Humanities and Design at the College of Professional and Continuing Education (CPCE), The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), teaching courses on history, culture, and humanities. Before joining CPCE, Dr Ho had taught a wide range of courses related to the history and culture of China, the history and culture of Hong Kong, the history of historiography, and historical theory at different tertiary institutions including the School of Continuing and Professional Studies of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Baptist University, and the Community College of City University.

Dr Ho obtained his Associate Degree in Bilingual Communication from Hong Kong Community College, PolyU. He then received his Bachelor of Social Sciences in China Studies (History), Master of Philosophy (Thesis title: "How to Be a Husband: Models of Masculinity as Seen in Household Instructions〔Jiaxun〕in Qing China"), and Doctor of Philosophy (Thesis title: "A Study of Women's Roles in Constructing Masculinities in Ming-Qing China") from the Department of History of Hong Kong Baptist University. He was a scholarship recipient of Li Po Chun Charitable Trust Fund Postgraduate Scholarship, Madam Shao Shu Lung Memorial Prize (for Postgraduate Students), and Dr Arthur Lau Award in Gender History for five consecutive years (2013-2017) during his MPhil and PhD studies. Furthermore, Dr Ho was a visiting graduate student at the Department of History of the University of California San Diego and a visiting student at the Department of History of Tsinghua University.

Dr Ho is active in the academia. His research interests include Chinese gender history, masculinity, Ming-Qing women's writings, Chinese family history, Ming and Qing history, historical theory and practice, the history of Hong Kong, and Chinese culture. He is the author of Yan wei xin sheng: Ming Qing shidai nüxing shengyin yu nanxing qigai zhi jiangou〔言為心聲:明清時代女性聲音與男性氣概之建構; A Study of Women's Roles in Constructing Masculinities in Ming-Qing China〕. He has published more than 25 research papers in this field in academic journals in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Korea. His articles can be found in Historical Studies of Women and Gender, Chinese Studies, Newsletter for Research in Chinese Studies, Bibliography Quarterly, Journal of History and Anthropology, The Journal of Chinese Historical Researches, and other journals.

Dr Ho has a passion for academic exchanges and teaching, and he enjoys sharing his experience and opinions with scholars and students to broaden his knowledge. Constant self-improvement, focusing on the details, learning from others, and never get tired of studying are his firmly held beliefs as a scholar.

Back

讲师

Dr HO, Kelvin Yu-hin 何宇轩
Dr HO, Kelvin Yu-hin
何宇轩
BSocSc, MPhil, PhD (H.K. Baptist U.)
教学及学术兴趣:
研究和学术活动 专业活动/成就

何宇轩博士现为香港理工大学专业及持续教育学院社会科学、人文及设计学部讲师,主要任教历史、文化及人文学相关课程。加入专业及持续教育学院之前,何博士曾任职于香港中文大学专业进修学院、香港浸会大学、香港城市大学专上学院等,教授中国历史文化、香港历史文化、史学史、史学方法等学科。

何博士毕业于香港理工大学香港专上学院,获颁中英语文传意副学士学位。其后,他于香港浸会大学历史系取得学士学位 (中国研究〔历史〕社会科学)、哲学硕士学位 (论文题目:「夫道」——清代家训所呈现的男性人格)、哲学博士学位 (论文题目:明清女性在男性人格建构过程中的角色研究)。在修读哲学硕士及博士研究课程的阶段,他连续五年获取研究生奖学金(2013-2017),包括李宝椿慈善信讬基金研究生奖学金、萧瑞麟女士纪念研究生奖学金、刘聚富博士性别史论文奖,以表扬其研究成果。此外,何博士亦曾是美国加州大学圣地牙哥分校历史系访问研究生、清华大学历史系访问学生。

何博士的研究领域包括中国性别史、男性学、明清女性着作、中国家庭史、明清史、史学方法、香港史、中国文化。相关学术专着有《言为心声:明清时代女性声音与男性气概之建构》,另撰有逾25篇学术着作,已发表于中国、台湾、香港、韩国等地的重要期刊,包括《妇女与性别史研究》、《汉学研究》、《汉学研究通讯》、《书目季刊》、《历史人类学学刊》、《中国史研究》。

何博士热爱学术交流及教学,喜欢与学者、学生互相分享看法,增广见闻。他相信注意生活上的细节与点滴,有助于个人成长的累积;谦逊地向他人学习、力学不倦,是他治学所坚守的信念。

返回