Lecturer

Dr CHIU, Hon-sun  邵漢新
Dr CHIU, Hon-sun
邵漢新
BEng, MEd, MPhil, PhD (H.K.)
Teaching and Scholarly Interests:

Dr Chiu Hon-sun received his Bachelor’s degree in Information Engineering, MPhil degree in Computer Networks, and PhD degree in Wireless Networks, from The University of Hong Kong. His research interests include routing, resource allocation and management, MAC layer protocol design, and cross-layer optimization, in both wired and wireless networks. Dr Chiu has published a number of research papers in various international journals and conferences. He is also an active technical reviewer for many international journals and conferences.

While pursuing his MPhil and PhD degrees, Dr Chiu worked as a teaching assistant in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering of The University of Hong Kong where he gained valuable teaching experience. He taught several bachelor and master courses, and received the “Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award” several times. With his outstanding performance, Dr Chiu was employed as the Head Demonstrator of the department.

After joining HKCC, Dr Chiu continues to demonstrate his excellent teaching. He believes that teaching is not just presenting subject contents, but it is a way to help students understand and develop their interests in subject areas. Dr Chiu used to teach subjects in a simple way by supplementing teaching materials with daily life examples. He usually brings high energy to his classes and promotes students’ enthusiasm and interest in learning. With the objective of gaining a better understanding of the education system and improving his teaching, Dr Chiu studied part-time after work and obtained the MEd degree from The University of Hong Kong.

Dr Chiu loves sharing his experience with students. He is happy to see his students’ personal and academic growth. Apart from teaching, Dr Chiu is currently a member of the Programme Counselling Team and is also a Student Organisation Officer in HKCC.

Back

讲师

Dr CHIU, Hon-sun  邵汉新
Dr CHIU, Hon-sun
邵汉新
BEng, MEd, MPhil, PhD (H.K.)
教学及学术兴趣:

邵汉新博士在香港大学取得工程学学士(主修讯息工程)、哲学硕士(主修电脑网络)及哲学博士(主修无线网络)学位。他的研究兴趣包括网络路由、网络资源分配及管理、媒体存取控制层的协议设计,以及跨层式优化设计。邵博士曾在多个国际学术研究会议上发表研究成果,其研究论文亦曾刊登于多份国际知名学术杂志。另外,邵博士获多个国际学术会议和杂志邀请担任评审员。

邵博士拥有丰富的大学教学经验,在修读哲学硕士及博士学位期间,他在香港大学电机及电子工程学系担任教学助理,执教多门学士及硕士科目,并多次获得「杰出教学助理奖」。由于邵博士表现杰出,该学系聘任他为首席示范员。

加入香港专上学院之后,邵博士继续发挥他的优秀教学。他认为教学并不等于在课堂上把课程内容对学生演说一次。相反,他的教学理念是帮助学生明白课程内容,并培养他们的学习兴趣。邵博士会将日常生活的所见所闻融入教材之中,并用轻松的手法把课程内容深入浅出地说明。他的教学方法为课堂带来活力,同时提升了学生的学习热诚及兴趣。为了加深对教育系统的了解及改善教学方法,邵博士利用工余时间继续进修,在香港大学取得教育硕士学位。

邵博士喜欢与学生分享他的经验,亦乐于看到学生在个人及学业上的成长。除了教学之外,邵博士现时是学院的课程辅导组成员,亦是学生组织主任。

返回