Principal Lecturer

Dr CHAU, James Chun-pong 周振邦
Dr CHAU, James Chun-pong
周振邦
BEng, PhD [PolyU(H.K.)]; GMHKIE
Teaching and Scholarly Interests:

Dr Chau Chun-Pong received his BEng (Hons) and PhD degrees in Electronic and Information Engineering from The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. For his outstanding academic performance, he received during his undergraduate studies many student prizes such as the Hong Kong Electric Scholarship, the Motorola Semiconductors Scholarship, and the HKIE Student Prize. He completed his bachelor's degree with a first class honour in 1996, after which he received the Tuition Scholarship and immediately went on to pursue research for his PhD degree.

His research interests included digital signal processing, image and video signal processing, pattern recognition, and artificial intelligence.

After completing his PhD degree in 2002, Dr Chau joined a local IC design company in the Hong Kong Science Park as a system design engineer. He pursued the development of the system models for various LCD driver IC and multimedia IC for mobile devices and carried out marketing research on the LCD driver and multimedia industries.

Besides industrial experience, he also possesses teaching experience in tertiary education, having taught subjects related to computer science and signal processing at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, The Open University of Hong Kong and the Institute of Vocational Training.

Dr Chau joined HKCC in 2004 as a college lecturer for computing and engineering subjects.

Back

首席讲师

Dr CHAU, James Chun-pong 周振邦
Dr CHAU, James Chun-pong
周振邦
BEng, PhD [PolyU(H.K.)]; GMHKIE
教学及学术兴趣:

周振邦博士在香港理工大学取得电子及讯息工程的荣誉学士及哲学博士学位。大学学习期间,由于学业成绩理想,周博士曾获颁多项奖学金,包括香港电灯奖学金、摩托罗拉半导体奖学金及香港工程师学会学生奖等。1996年,他完成了学士学位并取得甲等荣誉,并同时获得学费括免奖学金,立即开始哲学博士学位的研究工作。他的研究兴趣包括了数字信号的处理、图像和视频的信号处理、模式识别和人工智能等。

2002年,周博士完成哲学博士学位,加入一间在香港科学园的本地集成电路设计公司,担任系统设计工程师。他为各种液晶显示驱动器的集成电路和移动设备多媒体的集成电路研制了它们的系统模型,并进行液晶显示驱动器和多媒体的工业上的销售研究。

除业界经验,周博士曾在多间大专院校教学,包括香港理工大学、香港中文大学、香港公开大学和职业训练局。他主要任教电脑科学和信号处理有关的科目。

2004年,周博士加入香港专上学院,担任电脑科和工程科讲师。

返回