Lecturer

Ms YAU, Shirley Suk-ying 邱淑瑩
Ms YAU, Shirley Suk-ying
邱淑瑩
BA, MA (H.K.); MA (City H.K.)
Teaching and Scholarly Interests:

Ms Shirley Yau’s research interests include comparative mythology, visual culture, East-West comparative studies and translation studies, areas in which she was awarded a Master of Arts in Literary and Cultural Studies by The University of Hong Kong and a Master of Arts in Translation and Interpretation by City University of Hong Kong.

Before joining HKCC, Ms Yau had worked in the Government as a translation officer, The Chinese University of Hong Kong - Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Community College as a lecturer and the Department of Chinese, Translation and Linguistics of City University of Hong Kong as an instructor. She has extensive experience in coaching associate degree and undergraduate students in translation, English and cultural studies.

Ms Yau is passionate about teaching and life. She loves spending her spare time hiking, backpacking, dancing and playing the djembe. She has become a member of the SewaFoli djembe team since 2013. Besides, Ms Yau has worked as a volunteer at the Samaritans Hong Kong, where she acquired invaluable communication and listening skills. Her favourite Bible verse: “But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.” (Psalms 1:2-3)

Back

讲师

Ms YAU, Shirley Suk-ying 邱淑莹
Ms YAU, Shirley Suk-ying
邱淑莹
BA, MA (H.K.); MA (City H.K.)
教学及学术兴趣:

邱淑莹女士取得香港大学文学硕士(文学及文化研究)及香港城市大学文学硕士(翻译及传译)学位,其研究兴趣包括比较神话学、视觉文化、东西方文化比较及翻译研究。

加入香港专上学院之前,邱女士任职政府翻译主任、香港中文大学-东华三院社区书院讲师,以及香港城市大学中文、翻译及语言学系导师,擅于教授副学士及学士学生翻译、英语及文化研究等学科。

邱女士热爱教学,热爱生命,闲时最爱远足、做「背囊友」、跳舞、打非洲鼓。2013年,她成为SewaFoli非洲鼓乐团成员,也曾于香港撒玛利亚会当热线义工,学习沟通及聆听。邱女士的人生座右铭是﹕「惟喜爱耶和华的律法,昼夜思想,这人便为有福!他要像一棵树栽在溪水旁,按时候结果子,叶子也不枯干。凡他所做的尽都顺利。」(诗篇1:2-3)

返回